# Manly Warringah Football Referees Association

# Minutes of Annual General Meeting held at 7.00 pm on Wednesday 13 December 2023 at Manly Warringah Football Club, 101 South Creek Road, Cromer.

# 1. Opening, welcome and apologies

The President, Toby Williams, welcomed members to the Annual General Meeting and declared the meeting open at 7:08 pm. He acknowledged Colin Coupland, Don Gale and Ryan Shepheard, Life Members of the Association and thanked them for their attendance.

A moment of silence was observed in memory of the late Ken Lewis and the late Jim Loke.

Toby presented Sigrid Mulherin with a gift to mark her ten-year anniversary as Administrative Officer.

## 2. Confirmation of minutes of previous Annual General Meeting

Moved that the minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on 19 December 2022 be accepted.

Brian Barkworth/Stephen Logue - Carried

## 3. Business arising

Robert Brennan had queried at the previous Annual General Meeting whether excess funding from the Association's main bank account would be transferred to the 'maximiser account'. The Treasurer, David Page, confirmed this had occurred.

# 4. Consideration of nominations for Life Membership of the Association

Toby Williams invited Colin Stocks to read Frank Best's nomination for Life Membership, which had been approved by the Management Committee.

Frank was asked to leave the room before the motion was put to the meeting.

Moved that Frank Best be elected a Life Member of Manly Warringah Football Referees Association in recognition of his outstanding service to the Association.

Mark Pryke, Don Gale, James Barnes, Ryan Shepheard and Toby Williams spoke in favour of the motion.

#### Colin Stocks/Mark Pryke – Carried Unanimously

Frank was invited back into the room and was presented his Life Member badge by his son, Andrew Best. He thanked the Management Committee and members of the Association for the honour.

# 5. Receipt of Committee reports upon the activities of the Association

The Annual Report had been available to members on the Association's website.

Toby Williams provided a brief summary of the benefits of the Association's increased coverage rate (97% in 2023 v 90% in 2022) for the Management Committee's extensive plans for 2024.

Moved that the 2023 Annual Report be accepted.

Frank Best/Brian Barkworth - Carried

#### 6. Receipt of the financial statement of the Association

The Treasurer, David Page, presented the Association's financial statement for the year ended 30 September 2023. He was pleased to confirm a net surplus of \$22,000, largely derived from

which was largely a result of the Association covering more games and receiving a higher percentage of increased match fees.

Moved that the financial statements for the Association for the year ended 30 September 2021 be accepted.

James Barnes/Brian Barkworth – Carried

# 7. Consideration of Special Resolutions

None

## 8. Election of office-bearers

Toby Williams declared the following positions vacant: Vice President Seniors, Secretary, Disciplinary Committee Liaison Officer, Registrar, Course Coordinator and Branch Coach.

For the position of Vice President Seniors, Colin Stocks was nominated by Don Gale and the nomination was seconded by Mark Pryke. Colin accepted the nomination and in the absence of any further nominations, was declared elected.

For the position of Secretary, David Le Ban was nominated by Craig McBurnie and the nomination was seconded by David Page. David was not present at the meeting but Toby Williams confirmed he would accept nomination. In the absence of any further nominations, David was declared elected.

For the position of Disciplinary Committee Liaison Office, Craig McBurnie was nominated by Mark Pryke and the nomination was seconded by Stephen Logue. Craig accepted the nomination and in the absence of any further nominations, was declared elected.

For the position of Course Coordinator, Robert Iacono was nominated by Frank Maiuolo and the nomination was seconded by David Page. Robert was not present at the meeting but Toby Williams confirmed he would accept nomination. In the absence of any further nominations, Robert was declared elected.

For the position of Branch Coach, Ivica Covic was nominated by Jackson Mackie and the nomination was seconded by Andrew Best. Ivica accepted the nomination and in the absence of any further nominations, was declared elected.

For the position of Registrar, Toby Williams was nominated by Frank Maiuolo and the nomination was seconded by Frank Best. Toby accepted the nomination and in the absence of any further nominations, was declared elected.

Toby thanked Frank Maiuolo for his contribution as Registrar and welcomed lvica Covic to the Management Committee.

#### 9. General business

Ryan Shepheard queried whether Manly Warringah Football Association's Disciplinary Committee had been supportive of referees throughout the season. Disciplinary Committee Liaison Officer, Craig McBurnie, confirmed it had been supportive in most cases.

## 10. Close

The President wished members a Merry Christmas and invited them to remain for refreshments, then closed the meeting at 8:00 pm.

#### Attendance:

**Management Committee:** Toby Williams (President), Colin Stocks (Vice President Seniors), Jackson Mackie (Vice President Juniors), Mark Pryke (Vice President Team Referees), David Page (Treasurer), Craig McBurnie (Disciplinary Committee Liaison Officer) and Frank Maiuolo (Registrar).

Life Members: Colin Coupland, Don Gale, Ryan Shepheard and Frank Best.

**Members:** Brian Barkworth, Mario Tisano, James Barnes, Stephen Logue, Tony Ruttyn, Richard Evans, Andrew Best, Michael Aiello, Rocky Falvo, Jeremy Denham, Rodrigo Calbiague Garcia, Steve Marton, Amirah Sergas, Hannah Sheridan, Ivica Covic, Chris Melville, Geoff Hunt and Pete Carnell.

# Apologies:

**Management Committee:** David Le Ban (Secretary) and Robert Iacono (Branch Coach and Course Coordinator).

Life Members: Bernard Crossweller, Tony Rathbone, Peter Robson and Robert Brennan.

**Members:** Lucianne Lauffer, Mic Handrock, Sam Digby, Jonathan Taylor, Ryan Sinclair, Gabriel Kuypers, Ed Schmidt, Hugo Cumberworth, Remi Cumberworth, Caitlyn Robinson, Will McCreery, Amelia Turnbull, Ryan Berlee, Charles Elliott, Michael Grinbergs and Liam Poufney.